NOAN Accepts New Leaders,Hosts Organic Weekend

The 2021 Annual General Meeting marked the emergence of new leaders for the Association’s Governing Board and the Board of Trustees. Members of Association of Organic Agriculture Practitioners of Nigeria gathered at Abuja to determine the next line of action for the continuous piloting of the Association. The event also hosted the maiden edition of the much anticipated KCOA Organic Weekend which was aimed at showcasing the varieties of organic produce and to foster networking and interaction among stakeholder in organic agriculture value chain. Organic weekend is an initiative of the Knowledge Centre for Organic Agriculture in Africa, a project sponsored by the GIZ and implemented by Enda Pronat, Agrecol and FENAB, this event added glamour to the AGM as members were able to trade and network with the exhibitors . It was a hybrid of both physical and virtual participation.

The 2021 AGM took place at Abuja City Park, Ahmadu Bello way, Wuse, Abuja, Nigeria. The Abuja State Chapter of the Association was also inaugurated. It also included the final presentation of the reviewed Constitution and bylaw of the Association, the dissolution and the election of the new Executive Committee members.

The President of the Association, Prof V. I. Olowe in his address presented the achievements of his team and advised the incoming EXCOs to weigh their performances  with the Key Performance Indicator, not forgetting the evaluation of the Strategic Plan drawn by the Prof. Olowe led administration. He also requested that respective participants and officers be fair in dealing with one another as the new leaders come in to the office. Members of the Association agreed that the following be made members f the Board of Trustees viz:

  1. Gideon A. Adeoye
  2. James Adediran
  3. Timothy I. Olabiyi
  4. Nkiru T. Meludu
  5. Dr Olugbenga AdeOluwa

The Chairman of the Electoral Committee appreciated all participants, the outgoing EXCOs for giving her the opportunity to execute the task successfully and fairly, members of the Association, the Secretary, Electoral Committee, Miss Rebecca Okunola and every other persons who contributed at one area or the other towards the success of the election. She requested that the elected Executive Committee members come to the podium for recognition.

Members voted through various platforms mandated by the electoral committee and the following emerged the elected Executive Committee members:

  1. Dr Jude C. Obi – President
  2. Alhaji Luqman Oladapo – Vice President
  3. Dr Olufemi Ayanfeoluwa – General Secretary
  4. Dr Uko Ibeabuchi – Assistant General Secretary
  5. Chief Mosudi Salimonu – Financial Secretary
  6. Dr Ogechi Umeh – Treasurer
  7. Mrs Abimbola Sakirah Majolagbe – Public Relations Officer
  8. Dr Akudo Onunwa – Editor

The newly elected President, Dr Jude C. Obi in his closing remark expressed his gratitude to members of the Association at all categories and the partners of the Association for their continuous support at various capacities. He vowed to ensure he makes effort towards the attainment of the expected height and growth for the Association, he also wished every participants safe journey back to their various destinations. The next AGM was agreed to take place at Awka, Anambra State. Members of staff, members of the Association wish the outgoing Executive Committee members success in their future endeavours and the new EXCOs and BOT excellent performance in their various portfolios.



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.